In the Eritrean Orthodox Tewahdo Faith, there are seven sacraments, which are important to learn when trying to understand the tewahdo faith as beginner. The seven sacraments are as follows:

  • Baptism (ጥምቀት)
  • Myron/Confirmation (ሜሮን)
  • Repentance and Confession (ንስሓ)
  • Holy Communion (ቁርባን)
  • Holy Matrimony (ተክሊል)
  • Priesthood/Holy Orders (ክህነት)
  • Unction of the Sick (ቀንዴል)



Sacrament of Baptism - ጥምቀት

  • The sacrament through which we receive the grace of childhood to God by being baptized in water by the priest so that we may be born of the Holy Spirit.
  • Fact:
    • One can only be baptized with water three times in the name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit by a priest (Kahn).
    • A tewahedo can only be baptized once.
    • Males baptized at 40 days-old and Females baptized at 80 days-old.
      • Adam entered the Garden of Eden 40 days after he was created and Eve entered the Garden of Eden 40 days after Adam (80 days total).
    • Verse:
      • Jesus answered, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of GodJohn 3:5
      • “He who believes and is baptized will be saved; but he who does not believe will be condemned” Mark16:16


Sacrament of Myron/Confirmation - ሜሮን

  • The sacrament through which we receive the seal of the Holy Spirit right after baptism by anointing with holy Myron.
  • Fact:
    • The use of Myron began with the disciples (Luke 24:1)
    • The priest anoints the child/believer in 36 places after he/she is baptized
  • Verse:
    • “Now when the apostles who were at Jerusalem heard that Samaria had received the word of God, they sent Peter and John to them, who, when they had come down, prayed for them that they might receive the Holy Spirit. For as yet He had fallen upon none of them. They had only been baptized in the name of the Lord Jesus. Then they laid hands on them, and they received the Holy Spirit” Acts 8:14-17
    • “But you have an anointing from the Holy One, and you know all things” 1 John 2:20



Sacrament of Holy Communion - ቁርባን

  • The sacrament through which we receive the consecrated body and blood of Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.
  • Fact:
    • Four sacraments (Sacrament of Baptism, Sacrament of Confession, Sacrament of Matrimony, and Sacrament of priesthood) are received by partaking of the Holy Communion.
  • Verse:
    • “For I received from the Lord that which I also delivered to you: that the Lord Jesus on the samenight in which He was betrayed took bread; and when He had given thanks, He broke it and said, “Take, eat; this is My body which is broken for you; do this in remembrance of Me.” In the same manner He also took the cup after supper, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in My blood. This do, as often as you drink it, in remembrance of Me.” 1 Cor. 11:23-25



Sacrament of Confession - ንስሓ

  • The sacrament by which we receive absolution of sin through the priest, repentance, and penance.
  • Confession involves believing in one’s sin or believing that the one has committed a sin/wrongdoing.
  • Two ways of confession:
    • Confessing to a priest
    • Crying
  • Fact:
    • One must confess by confessing all of ones’ sin to the priest and partake of the Holy Communion.
  • Verse:
    • “If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven them; if you retain the sinsof any, they are retained.”John 20:23
    • “Repent for the Kingdom of Heaven is at hand” (Matthew 3:2)



Sacrament of Priesthood - ክህነት

  • The sacramental ordination of one by the laying of hands to perform rites and give the gifts of the sacraments.
  • Fact:
    • Kahn: One who serves
    • Only married deacons can become priests
  • Verse:
    • “And Jesus came and spoke to them, saying, “All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Amen” Matt 28:18-20



Sacrament of Matrimony - ተክሊል

  • The sacrament through which a man and a woman are joined in marriage into one.
  • Fact:
    • The sacrament of Matrimony involves partaking of the Holy Communion/Qurban
    • Can only be performed by a priest or Bishops.
  • Verse:
    • and said, ‘For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh’? So then, they are no longer two but one flesh. Therefore what God has joined together, let not man separateMatt 19:5-6
    • “For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh.”Ephesians 5:25-31



Sacrament of Unction of the Sick - ቀንዴል

  • The sacrament through which the sick is healed by prayer and anointed with oil.
  • Facts:
    • Performed by the priest (Kahn) with the use of oil and prayer.
  • Verse:
    • “Is anyone among you suffering? Let him pray. Is anyone cheerful? Let him sing psalms.” James 5:13